Feb 19

1965 Ewing Gym, Atascadero

Atascadero gets new gym
Norman Norton, a supervisor with Maino Construction Company, stands before new gymnasium at the Atascadero High School. Maino Construction Company is constructing a three building complex at the high school. Work is expected to be completed in May.

January 10, 1965
Mixed in with negatives of another story was this image.

The gym was later named for R.H. “Bud” Ewing.
According to biography provided by Donn Clickard and Bob Sarber,
Ewing came to Atascadero High School in 1936 and spent the next 35 years as a teacher, counselor, administrator and coach.
Beyond the impact he had on the students he taught and coached, Ewing left several enduring legacies at Atascadero High School. Following World War II, he led the effort to construct Memorial Stadium, and in 1946 he launched the Atascadero Memorial Track Meet. Fittingly, following his retirement in 1971, the gymnasium at Atascadero High School was named in his honor.
Bob Sarber provided the photo of Ewing which shows in the background one of the old buildings on the Atascadero High School campus later demolished in an earthquake retrofit.

ewing.jpgSarber is a 1979 A.H.S. graduate, on the board of the Atascadero Greyhound Athletic Foundation since its inception in the early 1990s. He serves on the Atascadero Greyhound Hall of Fame committee and is the Web master of www.gohounds.org.

Clickard has been involved with the Atascadero Unified School District since 1970. He is a retired athletic director of Atascadero High School and now is a school board member and the executive director of the Atascadero Greyhound Athletic Foundation.

Related posts:

  1. 1965 Lopez Dam Proposal
  2. 1965 Avila Beach
  3. 1965 Fashion-A-Go-Go
  4. Beatle Screamies 1965
  5. 1965 Tribune Newsroom